Off to New Zealand 6-31 May 2010

Well a long planned holiday comes to fruition early next month when I set off for almost 4 weeks in the Land of the Long White Cloud.

Originally it was myself and my dear partner Warwick, but after our primary and back up cat sitters let us down within days of each other, he had volunteered to stay home and cat sit the 6 feline felons so I can go and have a photographic odyssey!

Below is my itinerary – any suggestions of things to see and photograph along the way much appreciated. I am hiring a car and staying in hostels and cabins at caravan parks as they are the cheapest. But for the Landscape Workshop at Kinloch I will have a luxury room for 3 days.  And Stan W and his wife from Invercargill, a forum friend, has kindly offered me hospitality for the 2 nights I am in their lovely city.
I went to Akaroa and Kaikoura last year so am reluctantly missing them this time. I did try to squeeze in an overnight at Kaikoura but just could not fit it in. So don’t think I’ve overlooked them, I hope we can go again next year and see the top bit of the SI in depth and maybe visit the NI.

I have the LOTR book and hope to visit some of those sights along the way, feel free to point me at any you have visited, local knowledge always helps. And if anyone would like to meet and show me some of their favourite spots, I’d love to meet some of you.

Equipment wise at the moment it is 1DsMkII body, 2 batteries, charger, 16-35, 24-105, interval timer/remote, H2 body & 80mm lens, remote, Yongnu flash that fits both cameras, tripod and gimbal head (that will go in my suitcase). It is all (hopefully) going to go in to the Lowepro Omni Trekker and then into Pelican 1550 hard case.

DAY #, DAY&DATE, START FROM, DETAILS
1, Thu 6th, Gold Coast fly to Melbourne
2, Fri 7th, Melbourne to Christchurch
3, Sat 8th, Christchurch, drive to Methven – Mt Somers
4, Sun 9th, Mt Somers, Drive to Mt Potts (LOTR Edoras site) for photos, then on to Geraldine
5, Mon 10th, Geraldine to Mt Cook
6, Tues 11th, Mt Cook to Kurow (staying 2 nights for back country scenery
7, Wed 12th, Kurow, Photos
8, Thu 13th, Drive to Dunedin, photos on way, Moeraki Rocks, check out Castle
9, Fri 14th, Dunedin, Castle, Taeri Gorge train trip
10, Sat 15th, Dunedin, drive to Catlins north exloring on the way
11, Sun 16th, Catlins, drive to Invercargill, explore Bluff on way?
12, Mon 17th, Invercargill, explore Invercargill & surrounds
13, Tues 18th, Te Anua, To Te Anua and Milford Sound
15, Wed 19th, Milford Sound boat trip 9.30-11.30
16, Thu 20th, Te Anua to Kingston, visit the steam railway for photos, dinner at the tavern (went last time, very good!)
17, Fri 21st, Kinloch, 3 day Landscape workshop Queenstown Centre for Photography at Kinloch
18, Sat 22nd, Kinloch
19, Sun 23rd, Kinloch
20, Mon 24th, via Queenstown and Arrowtown to Wanaka
21, Tues 25th, Wanaka to Haast
22, Wed 26th, Haast to Greymouth
23, Thu 27th, Greymouth to Waia
24, Fri 28th, Waia
25, Sat 29th, Waia to Christchurch,
26, Sun 30th, Christchurch, Return car 1100
27, Mon 31st, Fly home

a few shots from our last visit to NZ in May 2009

Leave a Reply

