Moeraki Boulders, South Island, New Zealand

I found the Moeraki Boulders fascinating.  Unfortunately I had a grey day and rain when visiting, and next time I will make this spot an overnight stay and hope for a good dusk and dawn.  I’d also do a bit of research next time and try to be there at low tide.  The boulders even have their own website at http://www.moerakiboulders.com/.  (Explanatory extract from the website in italics below.)

The view as you walk along from the car park. The beach is covered by fascinating bits of stuff thrown up by the waves, too.

“The Moeraki Boulders are a number of huge spherical stones, found strewn along a stretch of Koekohe Beach near Moeraki, a small settlement just south of Hampden on New Zealand’s Otago coast. These boulders are grey-coloured septarian concretions which have been exposed through shoreline erosion from black mudstone coastal cliffs that back the beach. They originally formed in ancient sea floor sediments during the early Paleocene some 60 million years ago.

The boulders weigh several tonnes and are up to three metres in diameter.

Maori legend tells that the boulders are remains of calabashes, kumaras and eel baskets that washed ashore after the legendary canoe, the Araiteuru was wrecked at nearby Shag Point (Matakaea).”

When you visit, beware of the trap of using the walkway from the visitor centre shop and cafe – it costs $2 pp.  If you drive 300m south you can use the free public carpark and walk back for free!

This boulder with the 4 leaf clover like marking and the line of boulders behind in the surf.
This one appealed to me as it reminded me of the globe carried by Atlas (I don't know why, that was what poopped into my mind when I saw it!).

These 2 were quite a distance apart and I wanted to position them to show the different levels of emergence from the sand. As I have trouble getting down on my knees, and it was wet, it involved a lot of trial and error shots with me stooped as far as possible and camera held between my knees.
There were quite a few of these birds darting about and I liked that I caught 3 in the frame.
5 thoughts on “Moeraki Boulders, South Island, New Zealand”

  1. Did you manage to get to Fleurs fish restaurant while you were in the area , that was a highlight for me. As I said on my blog I thought the boulders were a little disappointing , but Fleurs was everything I expected.

    Oh yeah , did you see the steam train at Manderville ?

  2. Odille, tried to email you at your email address but your server indicates your mail service is overquote – can’t reply to you until that quota limit is cleared

  3. Sorry, Craig, I did not realise it was not deleting messages from the server and I had a huge backlog. And to compound it I forgot my password here, and of course they were sending the new password to the email and I wasn’t seeing it and it was all a beggar’s bloody muddle. Fixed now!

  4. Merv, I didn’t get to that restuarant, but next trip I plan to stay overnight to try for dawn/dusk of the boulders, so that will give nme a chance.

    I went to 6 steam train museum operations and they were all CLOSED! I was very peeed off.

Leave a Reply

