Comet Lovejoy

Comet Lovejoy, originally uploaded by Photography by Odille.

I have been going out every morning trying to capture this comet and finally we had a cloudless eastern sky! A bit fainter than I would like, but the H2 does not handle low ISOs well, and the only usable shots are from the Lumix.

26 Dec 2011; 0442, Terranora looking east, NSW far north coast, Australia Lumix FZ35, f2.8, 30 secs, ISO 200 (P1080495)

Tomorrow I will try from somewhere down nearer the water.  There is a spot on the Tweed River outlet opposite the end of Dry Dock Rd where I think the comet and southern cross might be reflected in the water, I won’t know until I get there in the morning.  If that doesn’t work I’ll go to Snapper Rocks and shoot over the ocean.  If any of the togs I was speaking to today would like to join me, love to see you.  You can tell where I am by looking for the big yellow Kia Pregio van!

Leave a Reply

