A Little Mystery

This week, I was browsing through the Encyclopedia of Cats during an idle moment or three. So here I am, browsing through, and I come to this image by Durer (anyone know the name of it, by the way?) showing Adam and Eve, four cats and the serpent offering the apple to Eve.  However, I cannot find this work even on the complete works site, so it may be by someone of his era, or a modern ‘after the style of’.  However, if it is contemporaneous with Durer (1471 – 1528), it presents a small mystery.

I was about to turn the page when it struck me. One of the cats is POINTED!  Why is this so extraordinary?  Because as far as I know Durer never left Europe, so WHERE did he – or of it is by a contemporary –  see a pointed cat?

First European mention of pointed cats is from 1793 Russia, and that’s still a heck of a long time after Durer (1471-1528).

Anyone have theories?  I have emailed the publishers to ask, but maybe there is someone out there who  can come up with the answer for me.

dscf4741

 

 

Leave a Reply

